https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gxy4MQ0vaGY

Dove Arising

Karen Bao

SYNOPSIS

Setting: The Moon

Phaet Theta’s Plan: Live peacefully in the lunar colony, work hard, become a scientist, and enjoy a quiet future off the government’s radar.

Then her mother is arrested.

The New Plan: Enlist in the militia, learn everything she can from top trainee Wes, and become the youngest Militia Captain in history so she can save her family.

It all seems perfect. Until Phaet’s logically ordered world begins to crumble…

Directed by
Ben & Julien Deka

Produced by
Rocco Rivetti & Film 14

REVIEWS

Karen Bao is an incredibly talented young writer. Beautiful prose and one of the most interesting main characters I've read. Dove Arising marks the debut of a promising new talent. I loved the story, and I can't wait to read more!

Christopher PaoliniNew York Times bestselling author of Eragon

Newcomer Bao’s off-world setting and world-building details are intriguing.

Publishers Weekly

Characters are well developed, especially strong-willed Phaet, and an even pace will keep teens turning pages. Fans of Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game, Veronica Roth’s Divergent and Marie Lu’s Legend should flock to this well-written debut effort by 19-year-old Bao.

School Library Journal

Until just recently, the number of formidable young adult authors who got published before they were out of their teens was extremely small: Christopher Paolini and Isamu Fukui. Well, it is time to make room for a third name in this elite list: Karen Bao.

VOYA

The 20-year-old Bao writes a brilliant new YA heroine in a world of true science fiction.

Bustle.com

Phaet is a compelling, ‘do what needs doing’ kind of girl, and her desperation to succeed and secure her family’s future is palpable…Revelations at the end pave the way for a sequel.

Booklist.com

Fans of The 5th Wave, Divergent, and Legend will love this smart, futuristic thriller.

Justine
dove arising author

Karen Bao

My childhood in New Jersey was full of music, books, stargazing, and buggy science “experiments” on the playground. As a high school senior, I wrote Dove Arising when I should have been doing my homework. I now study environmental biology at college in New York City, soaking up inspiration for future books. For more visit: www.karenbao.com